Racing 92 30-10 Saracens: Heavy defeat for Heineken Champions Cup holders

Racing 92 reached the quarter-finals of 2018-19 Heineken Champions Cup
Heineken Champions Cup Pool 4: Racing 92 v Saracens
Racing 92: (18) 30
Tries: Vakatawa, Thomas, Russell, Lauret; Pens: Machenaud (2); Cons: Machenaud (2)
Saracens: (3) 10
Tries: Lozowski; Pens: Spencer; Cons: Spencer

Saracens began their defence of the Heineken Champions Cup with a heavy defeat by Racing 92 in Paris.

The French side were impressive throughout, and led 18-3 at half-time thanks to converted tries from Virimi Vakatawa and Teddy Thomas.

Ben Spencer had landed a penalty before the break for Saracens, who reduced the lead when Alex Lozowski crossed.

But further tries from Finn Russell and Wenceslas Lauret gave Racing a convincing win and a bonus point.

A Maxime Machenaud penalty gave Racing an early lead, and they took a grip on the game inside 10 minutes when Vakatawa sliced through the Saracens midfield to dot down for a converted try.

Spencer’s penalty gave Saracens their first points following Machenaud’s second for Racing, who went further ahead when Thomas skilfully dived in at the corner. The winger’s toe appeared close to the touchline, but the try stood following a TMO review.

Saracens briefly had hope 11 minutes into the second half when a smart steal by Nick Tompkins put Lozowski in.

But Racing hit back almost immediately when Russell dummied at the start and end of a move that saw the Scottish fly-half stroll through Sarries’ defence for a simple try.

Racing’s bonus point and first place in pool four was secured when Lauret forced his way over from close range after a line-out, while Saracens had to play the last six minutes with 14 men after substitute Tom Whiteley was sin-binned.

Racing 92: Dulin; Thomas, Vakatawa, Chavancy, Imhoff; Russell, Machenaud; Ben Arous, Chat, Gomes Sa, Ryan, Palu, Lauret, Chouzenoux, Claassen

Replacements: Baubigny, Kolingar, Oz, Bird, Mangene, Iribaren, Volavola, Zebo

Saracens: Gallagher; Maitland, Lozowski, Tompkins, Segun; Vunipola, Spencer; Carre, Singleton, Lamositele, Skelton, Hunter-Hill, Isiekwe, Earl, Wray

Replacements: Gray, Crean, Koch, Kpoku, Reffell, Whiteley, Willemse, Taylor

Source link

India vs Bangladesh: Dale Steyn names Indian pacer as best fast bowler in the world based on current form – cricket

Plants use a single communication route when developing new chloroplasts — ScienceDaily